Netflix Tests Feature That Could Limit Password Sharing by Asking Viewers if They Live With Account Holder

Netflix is testing a feature that asks viewers to verify they share a household with the account holder, the company said on Thursday, a move that could lead to a clampdown on sharing of passwords.

A small number of Netflix users are receiving a message asking them to confirm they live with the account owner by entering details from a text message or email sent to the owner.

Viewers can delay the verification and keep watching Netflix. The message may reappear when they open Netflix again, and eventually they could be required to open a new account to continue streaming.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *